Health


Amblyopia

During the critical development period of visual cortex, a pathology in the eye (strabismus, hyperopia, myopia, astigmatism, deprevation) prevents the brain from developing to its full capacity. Even if the the eye tissues and structures are perfectly normal, the brain’s ability to process information is rendered poor.

The critical period stretches until the age of 8. If the child does not receive the proper corrections to assess the disease, the cortical problem will be permanant.

We recommend an exam once children are 10-12 months old to determine if a problem could lead to amblyopia. Such problemen can be hidden and remain undiagnosed unless identified by an optometrist!

”But my child can see an airplane far away in the sky!” you might say.
A child’s eye can do very well and see small objects from afar, whereas the second eye only fuctions at 20%. Don’t assume your child sees well out of both eye, because amblyopia is permanent. Ensure your child has perfect vision in both eyes!

Cataracts

A cataract is an opacification of the internal lens of the eye (crystalline). This opacification is mainly caused by age. It is accelerated by exposure to the sun’s radiations as well as diabetes, smoking, steroids and genetic predisposition.

For the last twenty years, cataract surgery has been quite successful as the procedures have been improved. It only takes a few micro-incisions and around 10 minutes to remove the clouded lens and replace it with an artificial plastic lens.

Glaucoma

Glaucoma is a disease that obscures peripheral vision. Over the years, peripheral vision goes dimmer at such a slow rate that it is imperceptible. The process is so slow that the patient will not notice the effects of glaucoma until it is too late.

During your complete eye examination, several tests are done in order to ensure the patient does not suffer from glaucoma (visual field, intraocular pressure, photos and necessary OCT scan).

Macular Degeneration (AMD)

Macular degeneration causes you to lose central vision. Imagine trying to read a word or to determine the look on someone’s face. With advanced AMD, you will lose these abilities.

There are two kinds of AMD: the slow (dry) and the fast (wet). Once obtained in its slow form, the central vision begins to get distorted. It is possible to slow down its course by using mutlivitamins (AREDS II).

We reserve injection treatment for patients who suffer from fast (wet) AMD. It aim is to slow down the progression but cannot repair any damages already obtained.

Precautions you can take: Beginning in childhood, all exposure to the suns’ radiation damage the retina and in particular, the macula. It is essential to protect your eyes through out your life from the sun. For toddlers, a suncap is enough as to not develop photophobia. For children and adults, wearing sunglasses with UVA/UVB protection will reduces chances of AMD

Having a balanced and healthy diet and smoke free lifestyle also contribute to decrasing the chances of suffering from AMD.

Santé


Amblyopie

Lors de la période critique du développement du cortex visuel, une pathologie au niveau oculaire (strabisme, hypermétropie, myopie, astigmatisme, privation), empêche le développement normal au niveau cortical (cerveau).  Même si la structure et les tissus de l’oeil sont parfaitement normaux, le traitement de l’information au niveau du cerveau se fait mal.

La période critique (plastique) du cortex visuel s’étire jusqu’à l’âge de 8 ans.  Si l’enfant n’a pas la correction appropriée pour régler la pathologie oculaire, le problème cortical d’amblyopie sera permanent.

Nous recommandons un examen dès l’âge de 10-12 mois afin de déterminer si une pathologie pouvant mener à l’amblyopie se cache derrière des yeux qui peuvent avoir une apparence parfaitement normale!

“Oui, mais mon enfant peut voir une avion très loin dans le ciel”
Un enfant peut très bien se débrouiller et voir de très petites choses très loin, mais d’un seul oeil! Alors que le deuxième ne fonctionne qu’à 20%!  Ne vous faites pas prendre, faites vérifier la vision des deux yeux de votre enfant, l’amblyopie c’est pour la vie!

 

Cataracte

La cataracte est une opacification de la lentille interne de l’oeil (cristallin). Cette opacification est principalement due à l’âge. Elle est accélérée par l’exposition aux radiations du soleil, le diabète,le tabagisme, la prise de cortico-stéroïdes et la prédisposition génétique.

Depuis environ 20 ans, la chirurgie est généralement très bien réussie. Il ne suffit que de quelques micro-incisions et environ 10 minutes pour retirer la lentille opacifiée et la remplacer par une lentille artificielle en plastique.

 

Glaucome

Le glaucome est une maladie qui obscurcit la vision périphérique. Avec les années, la vision peut s’obscurcir jusqu’au point où la vision ne tient que par une vision en tunnel.  C’est une maladie très sournoise, car il est impossible pour le patient glaucomateux de remarquer qu’il perd la vision.  
Lors de l’examen oculo-visuel, plusieurs tests de dépistage sont faits pour s’assurer que vous ne souffrez pas de cette maladie. (champ visuel, pression intra-oculaire, photos et au besoin scan OCT)

 

Dégénérescence maculaire liée à l'âge (DMLA)

La dégénérescence maculaire vous fait perdre la vision centrale. Imaginez-vous essayer de lire un mot ou déterminer le visage d’une personne. Avec la DMLA avancée, vous perdez cette capacité.

Il existe deux types de DMLA, la lente (sèche) et la rapide (humide). Lorsqu’atteint de la forme lente, la vision centrale commence par être distordue. Il est possible de ralentir son cours en ayant recours à des multivitamines (AREDS II).

Les traitements par injections sont réservés aux patients atteints de la forme rapide (humide), celle-ci ralentit l’évolution, mais ne répare pas les pertes encourues.

Les précautions à prendre. Depuis l’enfance, toutes les expositions aux radiations du soleil endommagent la rétine, et plus particulièrement la macula. Il est donc primordial tout au long de votre vie de protéger les yeux du soleil. En bas âge, il suffit de protéger les yeux avec un chapeau/casquette. À partir de l’adolescence, il est indiqué de porter des lunettes protégeant des rayons UVA/UVB.

Avoir une bonne alimentation équilibrée et ne pas fumer sont d’autres facteurs qui contribuent à diminuer les chances de souffrir de DMLA.